Posted by: realestatewebtrainer | April 26, 2011

Transcend the fluff of Marketing and go into the Land of Competence

In the past few days a Real Estate Agent I am coaching sent me a copy of a Listing Presentation that was given to her by her broker; it was a lovely. graphically pleasing presentation – lots of colors, branding, a Fluff Presentation that had nothing to do with Sales, Marketing, or Results…

So I asked her a simple question:

Why Should I list My House with you?

 “It is not a hard question but I think it is the most important question!”

I told her not to worry, go over the presentation and tell me where the question is being answered? She did go over it and started telling me about the longevity of the Brand, the Awards of the Brand, the national Reach of her company, how her office offered training to the agents, the network of Realtors and MLS, etc… All of it impressive – yet I could tell that she was struggling with her thoughts.

So I reminded her of the question:

Why Should I list My House with you?

Don’t get me wrong I understand that “Fluff Marketing Pieces” are lovely to have, especially when there is huge attention to the graphics, font choice, and properly massaged phrases – but I think Sellers are onto us; they want more – they want to know:

1. How are you going to Sell our House?

2. What is your Plan of Action and Marketing Plan?

3. and Why should we Pick you among the people we are interviewing?

The essence of it is “Competence” – whether you are using an electronic listing presentation, or going through it verbally “You are the One being Hired for the job of Marketing the Property” – and Competence is what you MUST convey!

 I am Competent

In fact I ask you to live with the question: “Why should Sellers list their Home with me?” – it is an empowering rich question; it will help you hone in on your skills; seek the right mentors; become familiar with the tools your agency offers; and hopefully force you to become a better communicator.

Happy Blogging 🙂 – Key Yessaad, Real Estate Trainer

Leave a Reply

Categories

